Shark Rotator Professional Lift Away REVIEW

Shark Rotator Professional Lift-Away NV501

By William | May 15, 2014

Shark Rotator Professional Lift Away NV501

8.9

Overall Cleaning Performance

8.8/10

Features

9.0/10

User Friendliness

9.0/10

Build Quality

8.5/10

Overall Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Easy handling ergonomic design
  • Lift Away feature expands versatility
  • Exceptionally quiet operation
  • 5 Year Warranty

Cons

  • No Auto Cord Rewind feature

Unbiased Review of the Shark Rotator Professional Lift-Away NV501 Vacuum!

Description

Review of the Shark Rotator Professional Lift-Away NV501
The Shark Rotator Professional Lift-Away NV501 Bagless Upright was designed to provide whole-house cleaning capability.  The unique Lift-Away feature increases the versatility of this model to make it an excellent performer on above-floor cleaning such as stairs, drapes, furniture, etc.

Powerful suction provides deep cleaning for all floor surfaces including low, medium, and deep pile carpet as well as hardwood floors. User-friendly features make it comfortable to operate.

                …Slick Marketing or a Real Winner?

When I started my Review of the Shark Rotator Professional Lift Away I was curious if this unique looking vacuum cleaner was as good as it was cracked up to be in those TV Infomercials.

A quick look at the many positive customer reviews across the internet show a high level of customer satisfaction with the New Shark Rotator Professional Lift-Away.

Great customer reviews don’t necessarily mean this is the right vacuum for your needs.

I put the Shark Rotator Professional Lift Away  under a microscope and examined every detail to provide you with complete information to help you decide.

Check Out this Cool Demo VIDEO!


Shark Rotator Professional Lift Away REVIEWs

Euro Pro – the Company

Euro-pro made its entry in the floor-care industry in 1992.   It has gradually emerged as recognized innovator as well as a manufacturer of quality appliances.

Like many new companies some of their earlier products had design and quality control issues but in the last seven years Euro-Pro has effectively addressed each issue and has been consistently introducing quality products.

Euro-Pro’s product line includes their highly-popular Shark® and Ninja® brand floor-care appliances.

2014 and 2015 J.D Power & Associates ranked Shark® Upright and Canister Vacuums “the Highest in Customer Satisfaction” based on the Vacuum Cleaner Satisfaction StudySM.

Features 

  • Lift-Away Capability. Without a doubt this is the feature that really sets this vacuum apart from other vacuums making it the equivalent of 3 Vacuums-in 1.  The Lift-Away feature allows you to
    Shark rotator pro 3 vacuums in 1
    quickly and easily separate the dirt reservoir and vacuum motor as a Pod unit to use as a Portable vacuum.  I find this ideal for cleaning stairs and other difficult to reach places using the hose and attachments.  Or you can place the Pod on the included roller Caddy and use it as a Canister vacuum. The Quick-Release Wand with the Bare Floor (Dusting Brush) attachment works great on bare floors. There are other vacuum brands available with the Lift-Away feature but I believe the Shark Rotator Pro Lift-Away is the best one I have reviewed yet.
  • Suction Power.  The high-output motor creates powerful suction that provides deep cleaning performance on any floor surface including plush deep-pile carpet.  Although not advertised as a “Pet Hair Vacuum” it does an excellent job.
  • Ultra-Quiet Operation. Allows you to vacuum without disturbing the rest of the family.  
  • Extra Large Capacity Dustcup. The Dustcup on the Shark Navigator Professional Rotator is large enough to vacuum an average size house with an average size family and average size pet before having to dump it.
    Large Dust Cup

 

 

 

 

    • No Loss of Suction.  The cyclonic system does an excellent job of separating the fine dirt and dust particulates from the air that helps keep the filters from getting clogged prematurely. Of course you still need to clean the filters regularly according to the owner’s guide for maximum efficiency.

 

      • Rotator Steering.
        Pivot Steering
        This function is similar to Dyson,s Ball technology but is lighter and much less complex, allowing you considerable maneuverability. I like it better than the Dyson Ball design because the vacuum just feels more agile in your hand and it allows you to vacuum under low clearance obstacles where the Dyson Ball just won’t fit. I think it is easier on the wrists too and takes less getting used to.
      • Filtration System. If you are an allergy sufferer the well-engineered Filtration System is One of the Best available for trapping allergy-causing Dust Mite feces and other particulates.
        Washable Pre Motor Filters
        Euro-pro has utilized an intelligently designed gasketing system to create a hermetically sealed
        Large HEPA Filter
        filter compartment that keeps even the most minute  particulates from escaping into the air you breathe.  
        The Shark Rotator Pro Lift-Away utilizes (3) washable filters including a Pre-Motor Foam Filter and a Pre-Motor Felt Filter that should be washed every 3 months according to the Owner’s Guide.  It has a large capacity HEPA Filter that traps 99.9% of particulates that should be washed every 12 months.  If you are an allergy suffer this is a model you should really consider. Independent testing has revealed there is even “Less Finite Particulate Leakage” than with the Dyson filtration system.

      • Brushroll Shutoff.
        On Off Brushroll Selector
        This feature makes the Shark Navigator Professional 3-in-1 Lift-Away Rotator an excellent choice if you have hard floors that you intend to vacuum. It also comes in handy when you want to vacuum that light area rug that would otherwise just get entangled in the brushroll if it was spinning.
      • Ergonomic Grip on the stretch hose.
        Ergonomically Designed Handle
        This feature really impressed me. It fits in your hand naturally so you are not having to hyper-pronate your wrist. It makes the Shark Rotator Pro Lift-Away and the above-floor attachments a real pleasure to operate.

Attachments

1) Dusting Brush to be used on the extension wand for vacuuming hardwood floors and other smooth floor surfaces.

2) 12 Inch Crevice Tool.

3) Large Turbo Brush that is excellent for vacuuming stairs and removing pet from upholstery.

4) Multi Angle Dusting Brush which works great for dusting furniture, blinds, fan blades, etc.

5) Straight Suction Nozzle and 6) A Canister Caddy that will hold all of the attachments.

Light Weight. At only 15.8 Pounds the Shark Rotator Pro is lighter than most full-size uprights making it easier to handle and carry up or down stairs.

5 Year Warranty

      • 5-Year Manufacturer’s Warranty. This is one of one of the longest in the industry.  And yes, the warranty does go into effect when you register your new vacuum after you buy it on Amazon.

 

 

Pros

Overall I am very impressed with the array of thoughtful features that Euro-Pro incorporated into their Shark Rotator Professional Lift Away 3-in-1 (NV501)!

A Quality Feel! I can tell the difference in a cheap junky vacuum that twists in my hand and a quality one that feels solid. The Shark Rotator Professional Lift Away has a quality feel that gives me the impression it will last!

      • I really like the ergonomically designed handle. It makes you look forward to vacuuming.
      • The 3-in-One Lift Away feature is one of the most useful innovations I have seen on a vacuum cleaner in a long time. It makes the Shark Rotator Professional Lift Away a very versatile vacuum cleaner!
      • The Ultra-Quiet Operation is a feature you can’t really appreciate until you actually use this vacuum in your own home.
      • The 5 Year Manufacturer’s Warranty tells me that Euro-Pro has confidence in theis product. 
      • The Price Point is below what I would expect to pay for a vacuum cleaner of this quality.

Cons

Although the Shark Rotator Lift-Away Professional may well be one of the best all-around bagless upright vacuums, it isn’t perfect!

The few detractions are relatively minor ones to me but they might not be to you. You certainly need to be aware of them.

      • I am somewhat disappointed that the Shark Rotator 3-in-1 Lift-Away Professional Does Not come with an Auto Cord Rewind feature. This can be a time-saving feature but it can also be a source of problems. It does have a quick-release for the hooks on which you wind the cord like my commercial vacuum. It would be difficult to fit an auto rewind mechanism into the overall design without having to compromise or forgo some other more important feature/s.
      • There are a few customer complaints that the Shark Rotator Professional Lift Away (NV501) “topples over too easily” when using the flex hose and attachments. This is a common complaint with other vacuum models that have a deploy-able flex hose. One simple solution I always recommend is to simply make sure the vacuum is facing you while you are using the hose. Another simple solution is to utilize the Canister or Portable Mode when using the flex hose.
      • Complaints are mentioned that the smaller Vacuum Head on the Shark Rotator Professional Lift Away makes it necessary to make more passes. The head width measures 11.5 inches which is about 2 inches smaller than a Bissell or Hoover upright. So this means that you would have to make about 3 or 4 extra passes in a 20 X 15 foot room.  You will make up that time with the large capacity dust cup and other time-saving features.

Bottom Line 

UPDATE 6/3/19:  Although there are newer models to choose from the Shark Rotator Professional NV501 has been and still is one of the best bagless upright vacuums produced.

I have to admit, I was really impressed with the Shark Rotator Professional Lift Away 3-in-1 (NV501).

My overall impression is that it just feels good to operate and everything works the way it is supposed to!
Review of the Shark Rotator Professional Lift-Away NV501

I can tell the difference in a cheap junky vacuum that twists in your hand and a quality one that feels solid.  The Shark Rotator Professional Lift Away has a quality feel that gives me confidence it will last!

Although the Shark Rotator Professional Lift Away is not advertised as a “Pet Hair Vacuum,” when it is equipped with Pet Care accessories like the Premium Large Turbo Brush (INCLUDED when you purchase through Amazon.com) the Shark Navigator Professional 3-in-1 Lift-Away Rotator is one of the Best Bagless Upright Vacuums for Pet Hair I have reviewed.

It is versatile enough to take on all challenges. It is light enough for an elderly or physically challenged person and for those who live in multi-level homes and yet compact enough if you have limited storage.

All the features work intuitively including the Lift-Away feature.  You won’t need to consult the User Manual to be able to operate this vacuum.

The Sealed Filtration System and the large HEPA Filter make it a very good choice if you or someone in your home suffers with allergies.

Cleaning performance on hardwood floors was excellent!

The Shark Rotator Professional Lift Away is a darn good vacuum and a bargain compared to other Top-Performing bagless uprights.

Check Out this Cool Home Demo VIDEO!

Shark Rotator Professional Lift Away

3-in-1 Lift-Away Technology give you the power of an Upright and versatility of a Portable and Canister Vacuum
Review of the Shark Rotator Professional Lift-Away NV501
Never Loses Suction

Clearer Air with 99.99% Sealed HEPA Filtration

Swivel Steering for easy operation

Extra-Long Cleaning Reach

Powerful Suction for cleaner carpets

Ultra Quiet Operation

Premium Tools and Attachments

5 Year Manufacture’s Warranty

Shark Rotator Professional Lift Away REVIEWs

2 comments
  1. Trish Franco
    Trish Franco
    November 20, 2017 at 7:54 pm

    I just had vinyl floors installed. Manufacture recommends only nylon bristle be used.
    What kind of bristles are on the Shark?

    Thanks,
    Trish

    Reply
    • William
      William • Post Author •
      November 21, 2017 at 1:24 pm

      Hi Trish and thanks for your question. All of the top vacuum cleaner brands, including utilize bristles that ARE SAFE on Vinyl as well as hardwood floors. Shark makes some excellent models that work well on both carpet and smooth floors. If you have both, let me recommend the Shark DuoClean Powered Lift Away Speed NV803. The DuoClean feature works incredibly well on smooth floors, especially if you have pets. Hope this helps! Will

      Reply
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *